Warcraft 2 Combat Edition

I  wanted to play Warcraft II again on Battle.net but I don’t have the time right now to spend hours trying to find my original CDs, figure out how to install Warcraft 2 on Windows 7, and try to get logged onto Battle.net (if its even still running for WC2). My favorite aspect of any classic game is typically the multiplayer and the ability to play it with my friends who also enjoyed these games so that is really what I wanted to install it for anyway.

I stumbled upon “Warcraft 2 Combat Edition”.  You can download Warcraft 2 Combat Edition from the creators site  located at: http://server.war2.ru/modules/mydownloads/

Warcraft 2 Combat Edition is a single install file of about 13MB which includes everything you need to play online through the war2.ru gateway. Simply go to the above page, download the file which is the first link on the list and install it. The install was easy on a Windows 7 PC and took less than a minute. I launched the application and it fired right up, and I was ready to play multiplayer on Garden of War! When I logged in there were approixmately 60 people online playing, more than I thought there would be. This application is Multiplayer Only, there is no campaign in Warcraft 2 Combat Edition.

Steps to Play:

1. Run the installer from the above link. Once installation is complete, double click the shortcut on your desktop. My title screen was a little messed up, but that went away once the game loaded. If you put the game in 256 color mode, that would probably fix it.

2. When the menu loads, click “Multiplayer”

3. Click “Enhanced”

4. Select Battle.net and keep the default gateway of war2.ru.

If you have problems hosting games, troubleshooting steps are below:

http://server.war2.ru/modules/news/index.php?storytopic=1

A short video available on their site is below:

4 responses

  1. Thanks for helping to promote the server! The Warcraft 2 community at war2server.com rocks!

    January 18, 2013 at 8:52 am

  2. noTaName

    Try dosbox on windows 7. takes a little bit of tinkering with it, but warcraft runs off of dos, which windows 7 doesn’t have. dosbox is a dos emulator

    November 4, 2013 at 8:52 am

    • Great comment, I’ll try that. I would like to play the single player campaign again!

      November 6, 2013 at 7:30 am

  3. jajaja, es una conversacion fascinante el tema en este post que he hallado en este
    sitio, lo he leido y ahora me gustaria muchisimo comentar.

    en esta pagina.

    September 6, 2014 at 8:50 am

Leave a Reply

